Close this search box.

Who are the Congregation of Holy Cross​

Congregation of Holy Cross

The Congregation Holy Cross was founded by Blessed Basil Anthony Moreau in Le Mans, France, in 1837. In Latin the name of the group is Congregatio a Sancta Cruce (CSC).  The Congregation, composed of two Societies of religious priests and religious brothers, has more than 1200 members and is currently serving in sixteen countries on five continents.  Notre Dame University Bangladesh was established in 2014 by the Holy Cross Fathers of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Province. 

The Congregation first came to serve in East Bengal (now Bangladesh) in 1853. Since then the CSC priests, brothers and sisters have established primary schools, high schools, and colleges in  remote areas as well as in the cities and towns of this country. NDUB is the first Catholic university and the first Holy Cross institute of higher education to be established in Bangladesh.  


History Timeline


About Us

Where We Serve


We shall always place education side by side with instruction; the mind will not be cultivated at the expense of the heart. While we prepare useful citizens for society, we shall likewise do our utmost to prepare citizens for heaven.